8 Replies Latest reply: May 24, 2012 11:45 PM by ivyyang RSS

Navisphere Secure CLI: Certificate Verification Error

ivyyang

hi, I am a newbie of VNX storages. I installed Navisphere Secure CLI NaviCLI-Linux-64-x86-en_US-7.31.32.0.42-1.x86_64.rpm on a linux system so as to access EMC VNX 7500 and got the following messages.       [root@lx0034nbumast bin]# ./naviseccli -User iyang -Password XXX  -Scope 0 -Address 10.119.9.121
Error occurred while trying to connect: '10.119.9.122'.
Message : Certificate Verification Error: validation of the certificate chain found an expired certificate.                                                                                         
anybody who can help?thanks in adance!

• 1. Re: Navisphere Secure CLI: Certificate Verification Error
    ivyyang

anybody who can help?

• 2. Re: Navisphere Secure CLI: Certificate Verification Error
    Christopher Imes

You have configured your installation to use medium certificate verification which is the default on HP-UX (for comparison sake, on Windows low is the default).  Apparently the certificate on the array being validated is expired and you should work with support to review (and possibly regenerate) the certificate if you want to maintain that level of security.  You can confirm the verifying level by running:

/opt/Navisphere/bin/naviseccli security -certificate -getlevel

If you want to get up and running, at least for now, another option you could consider is to forgo the certificate verification by uninstalling and reinstalling but pass the following parameter upon installation (there isn't a way to change an existing installation):

-x ask=true \*

When prompted for "verifying level", select: low or l.

Please enter the verifying level(low|medium|l|m) to set?

Review the Unisphere Host Agent /CLI and Utilities Release Notes document available on Powerlink via the following breadcrumb trail: