5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 12, 2012 10:29 AM by JunFan RSS

Restoring back the Data to Mail Files - Please Help

SSRR

Hi,

Due to some migration requirement we need to restore back all the Email Archived data back to user's mail files. The environment details are:

1) Only attachments have been archived for the users

2) Stubs are associated with the Mail Files

3) Around 1200+ users are there in the environment.

4) Lotus Domino is being used for messaging

5) Mailxtender is in 4.8.1.* version & only one server is available in place.

6) Overall size of the Archived data is 3 TB (compressed)

I would like to know is it possible to restore back all the archived data to user's mail files. If yes,

Technicall what are all the components required to do this activity.

Can this being done on batch by batch mode (10 users per day).

For 1200 users approximately how much days or months it will take the restore the archived data back to mail file.

I am totally new to Mailxtender. Please help me here.

Thanks!!!

• 1. Re: Restoring back the Data to Mail Files - Please Help
    Rajan Katwal

Greetings,

There are two things you need to decide:

1.       Are you only after the emails that are stubbed in user mailboxes ?

2.       Are you also after emails that are not present in users mailboxes but archived in the EX archive ?

For the first statement above, all you need to do is create EmailXtract Shortcut Restore job on EmailXtender server. This will restore all the shortcuts back to the users mailboxes. For more information on how to configure jobs you can download EmailXtender Admin guide from powerlink.emc.com website.

For the second statement, if you want those emails back from EX Archive EmailXtender comes with the Search Plug-in that you can use to export emails to NSF files.